On Becoming a Grown-Up

As time passes on, I start to feel very adult and grown-up about my life; really mature, you know?  I’ve been financially independent for over a year now and I haven’t starved or been without a roof over my head even one night.  I have not fallen into some financial fiasco involving reckless credit card abuse.  I have no wildly humiliating, inappropriate photos or sex tapes circulating the internet preventing any chance of future employment.  I am still alive and it doesn’t appear I’ve done anything to totally screwup any possibility of future happiness or success.  In addition to this, I have filed my taxes on my own (and in February, no less!), navigated the dreaded FAFSA loan process totally solo, independently piloted the graduate school application, and even more impressive, the post-acceptance process.  This is quite the accomplishment: living in the real world and not being totally eaten alive, not wealthy but certainly happy.  I’m on my way to becoming a grown-up, or at least the closest version of a grown-up I will ever be.

But Wendy Darling eventually grows up and wishes, "You won't forget to come for me, Peter? Please, please don't forget."

I admit, I can’t pass a park without testing out the swings (especially when they have long chains extending endlessly upwards allowing the swinger to go really high) or trying out the slides (especially those that are extra high up and twirly, but not too twirly that it slows the rider down.)  I enjoy nothing more than to curling up with a good book and my kitten in my Little Mermaid sleeping bag.  I own, and wear, a pair of red with white polka dot, button-up, footie pajamas.  When roasting marshmallows I typically resort to catching the puffy mass aflame and eating a blackened treat because I’m too impatient to slowly roast it to perfection.  I have a propensity for skipping when excited, and turning the occasional cartwheel when I’m outdoors and the grass is particularly green and springy.  I also admit to my affinity for young adult novels and children’s books, and that I eat mostly the diet of a toddler.  And sometimes, sometimes, I even make a pouty face and cross my arms when life doesn’t go my way.

All that being said, I still feel quite proud and adult like at the end of the day.  Then I have moments like tonight.  Moments where the search engine bar in my internet browser reads, “Do you have to cook a sweet potato?” because minutes before I eagerly cut into a raw one and anxiously tried to scoop out its contents into my mouth.  Moments where, after discovering that yes, indeed one must cook a sweet potato prior to consumption, I had to look up how one goes about cooking such a food.  Then, out of all of my options of cooking appliances (convection oven, microwave oven, oven oven), I actually select the microwave.  Finally, after semi-successfully cooking my food, I’m left wondering, “Do I eat the skin?”  After all of my shining adult moments, occurrences such as these happen and I feel incredibly childlike.  (Seriously, do you eat the skin?)

7 responses to “On Becoming a Grown-Up

  • colesk

    Hi! Thanks for subscribing to my blog.

    I am loving this post – I completely know where you’re coming from. I too have been self-sufficient for a year now (as of last week, in fact – a weird feeling!) and have checked off various milestones like owning a car and not failing to pay my water bill and things like that. At the same time, I can’t pass up candyfloss, adore swinging on the swings and am making it an aim to cartwheel in as many unorthadox places as possible (so far the library I work at has been defeated, as has the university canteen, and various shops and outdoor areas).
    These things lead me to believe I am in fact still a great big child. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one.

    Unrelated fact, I’m going to be a librarian also! (I hope.) Good luck with your study, would be great to know how you get on.

    One more thing: I don’t eat the skin. And you should roast them with chilli flakes on. Then they’re really good :)

    • alligatorsbite

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Hooray for one year anniversaries of being self-sufficient! I’m glad to hear that you haven’t had to go without water or anything like that. I’m even more glad to hear that you, too are a great big child! I like your cartwheeling idea, however mine are quite unpredictable and not necessarily in straight lines, so I’m not sure if that’s something I could adopt.

      How exciting about your librarian-ness! I start the grad program in July and I’m very anxious. Where are you in your studies?

  • savesprinkles1234

    I don’t eat the skin, but some people do! :) This is a sweet post. My oldest is moving in July to begin med school August first. She’s full of worries about living on her own. I know she’ll be fine. I’m glad to see you’ve made it through your first year! :)

  • Avery Sache

    Hello, I stumbled on your webpage from mixx. This isn’t not something I would typically read, but I liked your spin on it. Thank you for making a blog post worth reading!

  • Lelah Degennaro

    Hi there, just ran into this site from digg. It’s not blog post I would regularly read, but I liked your spin on it. Thank you for creating an article worth reading!

  • Dale Bowdle

    Hey, just ran into your site from mixx. It’s not something I would normally read, but I loved your spin on it. Thanx for making a piece worth reading!

Leave a Reply

